Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Crabs and Other Stuff.

This past Saturday, our GM invited the sales team over to his house to watch the real UT (as in Tennessee, not Texas) football game.  Even more exciting, he cooked. A lot. Like two huge coolers full of crab legs and enough ribs to even intimidate a preggers like myself.
 
I'm no trained medical expert - and I have no clue if I'm supposed to eat crab legs or not. So I didn't - and I was kinda relieved too because that's just way too much work for a small bite or two of food.  Ain't no hungry preggers got time for that.  I stuck with like 29 ribs that were absolutely delish. Josh was definitely not starving either (as evidenced by the picture below - his THIRD helping):
 

 
GM's home was absolutely beautiful and perfect in every way.  In fact, Josh and I started doing the math - maybe if we both doubled our sales (very difficult but possible) and quit going to Roosters (nope-nix this idea altogether)... All kidding aside, it was a great time, and we really appreciate his hospitality. Despite the loss, UT played a great game - and Knoxville has high hopes for the Florida game! I sure hope we win - it's embarrassing to lose to a bunch of jorts lovers.
 
Speaking of football and embarrassing, look what I did to poor Scott this weekend:
 
 
Yea...he even admitted that I need a weekly fantasy talk show.  Too bad I don't reveal my secrets :)
 

Monday, September 29, 2014

Maternity Monday - Strollers

Well...since Mondays are just so not fun - and being sober for nine 7.5 months (I didn't know...okay?)  is even more not fun, I feel like Mondays are a good day to dedicate my blogging to all things maternity.  I know you boys are on the edge of your seats, so listen up!
 
 
We came home from work on Friday to a sweet letter in the mail and very generous gift card to Target (shout out to Papaw Dwight!). I can't stand for money to just sit around not collecting interest, so I immediately decided to spend it on a big gift for our "Baby Mo." Anyone that knows me knows that Target is my JAM for my wardrobe, so this was a really unselfish act on my behalf. #patsselfonback
 
 
Y'all - picking out a stroller is harder than calculus.  It's even harder than that one time I tried to read Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde in the seventh grade. Hell, it's even harder than going a week straight without wanting to punch Josh in the stomach. Ughhh - somebody get me a shot of Fireball Sprite stat.
 
First off, a "stroller" isn't even called a "stroller" anymore. It's called a "travel system" like we'll have the money to take this baby-thing to France or The Netherlands or something.  puh-leeze. Second, I thought my biggest issue would be picking out the color (team black and gray-duh), but no, no, no-way more complicated. Third, safety, comfort, and weight? ugh, boring. Give me something sleek and cool and fast with hip wheels on the front!
 
 
So I narrowed our options down to two:
 
Option 1: The BOB Motion Travel System
 
 
 
Option 2: The Britax B-Agile Travel System
 
I mean...where do we go from here?  Well in true Josh-and-Liz fashion, we went to our friends that don't have kids yet (aka our smart friends that I'm really jealous of, especially on weekends), of course!! Group text messaging always saves the day. It went something like this:
 
Me (to our 9 closest friends): I'm trying to pick out a stroller...
Camille: I'm still drunk...
Julia: My 90 year old g-ma is smaller than me and feisty!
J-Day: My head.....
Pete: Was there a pillow fight involved?
Me: UGH...focus y'all. which stroller guys? answer quick: a BOB or a Britax B-Agile?
Camille: BOB was really fun at music midtown. I say that one.
 
 
DING DING DING! AND WE HAVE A WINNER!! Josh and I are going with the BOB Motion Travel System.  A special thanks to Camille for saving the day! Maybe I'll even let her take Baby-Mo on his/her first walk (please?)   :)


Thursday, September 25, 2014

Papaw Dwight's Farm

 
After saying our farewells to Jackie and Joan, we continued our Sunday by heading over to see Josh's dad. "Papaw Dwight," as he is commonly referred to by the family, has an ahhh-mazing farm in Fall Branch, TN. I'm talking llamas, pigs, cows, big horses, little horses, green animals, red animals, polka-dotted animals, animals I never knew existed. It is like a freaking Dr. Seuss book without all the rhyming. He has everything. Y'all are going to think I'm crazy (which I am), but I swear on everything he has even taught one of his baby llamas how to SIT on command. Like mind boggling stuff.
 
We got to see all of these awesome animals, but unfortunately Papaw Dwight was nowhere to be found (ultimate sad face). We had a bit of a miscommunication, and I am just going to outright blame Josh for that (y'all it works best that way because I just have to finger point and Josh is really good at ignoring me, so it's how we roll most of the time).  Sorry Josh - that was your fault AGAIN. Anyway, the point is...we really missed seeing you, Papaw Dwight, and we can't wait to see you soon!
 
We left our love with the animals below.  Here's just a small taste of his farm:

 
A sweet little llama family
 
I was praying for one of them to spit all over Josh. Didn't happen....
 
Not a fan of selfies, but a LLAMA SELFIE?? um...yes please!
 
I don't know who or what this guy is, but I just want to squish him - sooo cute!
 
Check out these three pictures below:  
Part 1: Sienna sees llamas - gets confused.
Part 2: Sienna has stare down with cow - loses.

Part 3: Sienna stress eats for rest of afternoon (she takes after me).
The beloved "Jake" - such a sweet pup. Even Bubbaloo loves him.
 
 Alright - I'm saving the best for last. There has been a new recent addition to the farm, and he is the cutest nugget I've ever seen. His name is "Bonnie" - and it's just not fair.  Josh and I plan on having some stinking cute kids, but seriously? We can't compete with this.  Bonnie, we're throwing in the towel - you are the cutest cutie-pie baby of anything I've ever laid eyes on.
 
Isn't he just presh??
Again, these are all just a small taste of what this farm is all about. I foresee many, many future visits with our "Baby-Mo!" Love you, Papaw Dwight!
 
PS - Today marks my official half-way point of pregnancy. 20 weeks down and 20 weeks to go! I'll be blowing up like a balloon in the next few months.  Friends and family, you are more than welcome to make fun of me! Let me lift this cupcake - and give a cheers to having an excuse to get fat :)

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Jackie and Joan

Sunday morning (well more like afternoon - hubs likes to sleep in), we ventured east to Johnson City to visit Josh's mom (Joan) and her husband (Jackie).  Let me tell you something --> I am one of those lucky few that hit the jackpot with mother-in-laws.  I could not ask for a sweeter and more welcoming MIL than Joan.  Jackie and Joan (not to be confused with Johnny and June) made the trek to our upstate New York wedding, and they were a HUGE hit with my yankee-doodle family.  Even our friends just adored these two describing them as "salt of the earth" type people - so true.
 
Of course we brought the pups with us.  Josh recently purchased a 4Runner - and this car was MADE for our dogs.  Yes, we are "that couple" that makes all of our life decisions based around our fur babies (if you have an issue with this, you are more welcome to write about your decision-making strategies in your own blog). They love to stick their head out of the back window - it always makes my heart just melt:
 
 
 
 
How could we NOT make a pit-stop at the best pizza place in East Tennessee?  This was such an exciting moment for Miss Preggers - a picture just HAD to be taken:
 
#mmmmmmm Raffaele's


 
Jackie and Joan live on a great spot on the lake.  Miss Geography over here has ZERO clue what lake this is, but I just love the view from their back deck:
 

 
 
 
As always, we had such a great visit and enjoyed eating some pizza, watching some football, looking at pictures, and catching up with them!
 
a thorn between two roses :)
 
Josh is a little too proud of his garnet and gold.....



Allie had such a good time, she couldn't even stay still for a picture.

 
We miss those three already and can't wait to see them soon! 
 
Come back tomorrow for "Sunday Funday Part II" - the farm animal pics will NOT disappoint :)
 

Monday, September 22, 2014

Mondays...

So once upon a time, way back when to yesterday, back when this blogger was young and fresh and excited...I had these great visions of a two part "Sunday Funday" post for today. In fact, it was all I thought about until EXACTLY midnight last night. Mondays. Ughhhh what a poor excuse for a day of the week. It was a long day at work. From 8 AM (okay, okay 8:30...preggers had to make a stop at Chick fil A for breakfast) to 7 PM, I was kicking ass and taking names struggling to smile at anyone.

However, it all changed for the better when I came home to my BRAND NEW iPHONE 6 (no, not the 6-plus...I didn't want to outdo my hottie, Zack Morris, for biggest cellphone ever). I now have 128 gigs of picture taking! That adds up to like 24,000 pictures of my pups and baby! I might even have a few to spare of the hubs (who am I kidding!). So that's what you get today. You get to hear me brag about going into more debt over a silly, new phone. Check out the comparison to my antique, 2.5 year-old 4S:

(you like the screen shot of Josh and I "reading" at the beach. we are really good at playing pretend sometimes)


For all of you that have been in a coma for the last week and have yet to see a photo of the back of the 6, see below. You can take the girl out of North Dallas, but you can't take the North Dallas out of the girl. So of course I went with the tacky gold option: 




Aaaaand of course, my first iPhone 6 picture. Many more of these precious souls in posts to come:


That's Sienna (a beautiful, sweet golden retriever) and Bubbaloo (a rotten, stubborn border collie/pitbull mix). Maybe someday you'll meet my husband, Josh. 

So that's my Monday. Praise Jesus it's almost over :)













Sunday, September 21, 2014

First Post

I've been talking and thinking about creating a blog for many, many months now. I've been able to convince myself that I don't have time, I'm a terrible writer, and I'm really quite computer illiterate. However, that little devil on my left shoulder beat out the angel on my right shoulder (happens ALL the time), and I'm caving in. Here's why:
  • Memories: The last year has been a great year of change...a new job, a new husband, and most important (sorry Josh) a NEW BABY ON THE WAY (which also means a whole new wardrobe..see future blog post for more discussion on that #teammaternityclothes). While I know I will appreciate all the thousands two of my readers that I'll eventually have, I really want a diary of my life for myself - something for me to look back and realize how perfect stupidly ridiculous my life is.
  • Social Media: I looooooove Instagram. Twitter is okay. Facebook is the devil. I still post on all of them. I try to limit my Instagram posts to no more than one a day (I fail sometimes, okay...). I try to limit myself to only positive, SOBER tweets (I fail there too...damn devil on my shoulder). I try not to even look at Facebook (y'all I get really bored at stoplights). Regardless, I have a lot to say, and my dogs and husband quit caring or even hearing me a long time ago. I'm not asking anyone to read and comprehend my posts. There won't be a test afterward - I just want to be able to "talk out loud" without looking like the crazy, schizo cat lady.
  • Pictures: I. take. too. many. pictures. It's a problem. I believe at least 10% of us females have to go through this painful disorder. It goes like this: awww...my dog is laying down [picture]. My dog is sitting [picture]. My dog is turning 3 [steak dinner and picture]. My dog is turning 3 and a half [toy and picture]. Uh oh...my dog is yawning...time for an action shot [picture, picture, picture]. I could go on for days. Actually, I've gone on for 32 gigs of space on my phone. I literally have not been able to take a photo on my phone for over a year now. Do you know how devastating it is to choose which picture of my husband to delete just so I can fit a picture of my mutt licking his you know what?! I can't take it. I need somewhere to post all that madness. So besides this post (I can't figure out how to work this dang thing yet), this will basically be a picture book of my freaking fantastic, celebrity-like mundane life.
  • Family: Look...I'm about to have a genius, drop-dead gorgeous baby. Sadly, talking on the phone is dying art. My work reads my email (I'm on to you!!). I DESPISE texting (I hate to read, okay). And quite frankly, no one on Facebook cares to see 19 pictures of my future model baby eating peas for the first time. Dear Family, if you want to see your niece/nephew/grandchild/cousin/godchild/etc - do NOT expect me to get you framed photos of my little angel. We all know I'm too lazy for that. Check my blog. Bookmark it. Hell, I'll even try to even keep cussing down to bare minimum. No promises...
Please note - this is by far the longest post I'll ever type. I promise for many, many, many more pictures and a whole lot less words. I hope all two of my readers enjoy it, learn something about my family, and maybe even laugh a little bit on the way.

Also - a disclaimer - I'm a math person. I grammar how I want. If you are one of those grammar-nazis that like to pass judgment on how people talk, type, spell, comma splice, capitalize, preposition, etc - you are going to have a FIELD DAY with this site. If it makes you feel better about your life, then get out your red pen and judge away!

Welcome to The Morrison Code :)

PS - I worked really hard on my blog-name - cute, right? #patsselfonback