Wednesday, October 8, 2014

The Road to Tallahassee

 
This past weekend, Josh and I took our second annual road trip to Tallahassee to visit our great friends (wait a second...MY great friends...I found them first), Lori and Nathan, and watch some FSU football. We left Thursday night after work and stayed in Macon, GA. We slept in the next morning (shocker) and took our time getting ready, so we could try out H&H Restaurant in downtown Macon.
 
Y'all...this preggers was in heaven. This place has been perfecting "soul food" since 1959. I'm talking fried chicken, fried catfish, gizzards, baked ham, meatloaf, and every southern "vegetable" (you know...stuff like mac & cheese and fried okra) that you can imagine.  This place is so old school that they don't even serve soft drinks.  We had our choice of either lemonade or sweet tea that was served in mason jars. When the food came out, I was mega-disappointed that I didn't order for like six(teen). We both cleaned our plates in seconds.
 

 
If you are ever in a fifty mile radius of this place, you HAVE to try it out.  Shout out to Mama Hill and Mama Louise for opening this place up and keeping it alive for so many generations to enjoy. The H&H story is pretty neat:
 
 
We fought through our food coma and arrived in Florida a few hours later. Josh would probably like for me to point out that we could have shortened our trip by at least an hour if preggers hadn't had to take a restroom break like every 5 seconds...
 
  Tallahassee is just beautiful.  It's got a very "southern Georgia / Savannah" type look to it.  The Spanish moss (which I learned is actually a parasite) is just breathtaking. This is what the road to the Line household looks like (#nofilter):
 
***disclaimer - I took this picture while Josh was driving like 90 mph...
 
We were greeted by two lovely people and two of my favorite things: flowers and a pup
 
Garnet and Gold flowers welcomed us in the guest bedroom
 
 

and sweet Rupert welcomed us in the kitchen
 
Nathan then had to completely ruin the day by busting out the Appalachian dulcimer and playing all of his best stuff.  Josh and I both HATE live music...but we'll give Nathan a pass. He tried really hard...
 
 
FYI, Nathan...I'm not paying you royalties for putting you on my blog. Your dulcimer music sucked, and it's not going to happen, bro :)
 
 
P.S. I actually enjoyed the dulcimer music and was a little jealous that he could play such an obscure instrument. But trust me...this dude's ego does NOT need to be fed.......

No comments:

Post a Comment