Savannah. So much history. And sadly, this preggers didn't have time for a bit of it. We did, however, enjoy the beautiful weather, the majestic sites, and the old southern atmosphere.
Last Friday, we drove into Savannah during the early part of the afternoon and immediately took the ferry to the convention center. I loved that little, stinking ferry. We also had time to grab a bite to eat at a pub on the river and do a little bit of strolling around until it was time to check-in to the hotel:
Friday night wasn't too eventful. Scott and Patrick carb-loaded. Josh and I picked up Camille from the airport. And the Wheeler family got into a three car pile-up less than a mile from the hotel. No-they weren't at fault and thankfully the Mercedes seatbelt hug and automatic headrest whiplash prevention kicked in. No one was injured. Them rich folk have it made :)
We were able to do a little bit of sight seeing during the race. I kinda wish our racers were in way worse shape, so we could have had more time for leisure, but I'll take what I can get:
and a little bit of picture taking going on after the race too:
Lunch was a total cluster. It's not easy getting 8 strong-minded people to agree on one place to eat, so we basically separated into the sobers and the drunks. Kara, Sam, and I had a fantastic lunch at Corleone's (my favorite Savannah spot). We were then able to steal Camille from the cool kid drunkard crew for a few to do some boutique shopping. How in the world I didn't spend a dime....I will never know. Love those little Savannah boutiques:
After dropping Camille off with the fun crowd, the lame sobers continued our much needed boring and fantastic night eating cheesecake in the hotel bawling our eyes out to the first ten minutes of the movie, Up. We met back up with the increasingly drunk drunkards for a quick dinner and then called it a night. I was thoroughly enjoying the hotel suite all to myself, watching a fantastic Bama/LSU game...when these idiots interrupted my perfect evening:
Thankfully, it didn't last long (and honestly, I'm just being hateful because I'm jealous):
I ended up having a legit blast gossiping and giggling with Camille until like 3 AM. Sunday morning, we said our goodbyes to the Wheelers, had a quick and very yummy brunch, and drove the party bus back to Knoxvegas:
Another fun weekend, indeed :)
No comments:
Post a Comment