Oh, how I love three day weekends! Especially when I get to spend them with family and friends in one of the prettiest cities in all of the South: Savannah!
Last weekend, Kara, Tom, Scott, and Patrick all kicked some butt at the Rock 'n' Roll Half-Marathon in the heart of Savannah. I helped plan the trip this past May before I knew that Josh infected with me the preggers disease, and I had totally planned on kicking some butt with them however....I had to settle with being a cheerleader (not that upset about it).
The morning started out bright dark and early. At 6 AM, our racers were pumped full of energy while the cheerleaders were pushing through hangovers from the night before (yes...pregnancy in itself is the same as a hangover without all the fun in my book). Guys...Josh was in such poor shape, I didn't even bother with a picture:
We all took the brisk walk over to the start line and it was totally worth it. We got a great spot, the energy was high, and the sunrise was gorgeous. I'm not sure the last sunrise Josh has actually seen; however, he was too busy performing his all-day drinking marathon to even notice the beautiful morning:
| Hey! There's Tom and Kara's hand :) |
After the runners got their start, Josh, Camille, Sam, and I rushed over to the 6 mile marker to show off our signs that we worked super duper diligently on the night before...like, we practically pulled an all-nighter:
Okay, so maybe we won't quit our day-jobs. Josh's Ironman poster got the most attention...I hate it when the drunk guy wins :( Anyway, it was so much fun seeing our runners mid-race:
At about 8:40, our runners started trickling past the finish line. In fact, Patrick beat his personal record - running the half-marathon in 1 hour and 40 minutes. And that was WITH a pee break. He got awfully close to our rockstar runner, Scottie! I have to say, it was pretty adorable to see my sister and brother-in-law run the entire race together. They even finished at the same time. Like...20 years later and they are still that cute? Ugh...gag me. I mean...Josh and I would have our divorce papers finalized before we ever crossed the finish line...
We are truly proud of our runners though! I've always considered marathons a celebration of the human spirit...and our fab-four did a great job:
Hey...and don't forget about us cheerleaders! It's exhausting work too:
The real winner of the marathon though? Josh. Duh. I think he polished off two grape-bombs and a six-pack of beer! Now that, my friend, is one heck of an accomplishment :)
No comments:
Post a Comment