Let me just start off by stating the obvious: I have the best sister in the history of mankind.
I'm not here to get into too much sappy detail on how much I love her. Look, I don't want to cramp my style, we both get weirded out by mushy stuff, and we don't even hardly hug each other. Simply put, I just love her to pieces, and I can't imagine the hell I would be living if it weren't for her guidance (no offense mom and dad - y'all did good too!). She's been there for me through all the downs in my life...and even more important to me, she's been there to celebrate every single one of the ups! Not only has she been there to celebrate, she's PLANNED all of the occasions. For example, Josh and I would probably have one of those lifetime engagement type deals if it weren't for her wedding-planning expertise. Like literally, we'd be too lazy to even do a drive-thru wedding in Gatlinburg.
Kara is like a fine wine, she just gets better at party-planning with age. Despite the fact that she works full-time, has two children that play a gazillion sports, and has a needy wonderful and darling husband, she was more than eager to somehow fit gender-reveal party-planner into her busy schedule. It was by far her latest and greatest event.
We started off bright and early looking fresh faced and beautiful in our PJs by doing some arts and crafts. This is something that I do NOT excel at, but I wasn't hungover...so I really tried this time.
No, she's not my younger sister...
Notice how big sis is working on her second pumpkin, and little sis has not even started on her first...
Finally to work.
I spent the rest of the day playing Farmville 2 scrubbing my house clean while my sister and mom ran errands. The crazy part...mom had NO clue about the gender this whole time. Like I said before...Kara knew for FIVE weeks without disclosing even the smallest hint.
Poor Mom was really rooting for a girl :)
Prepping the reveal-box. As evidenced by my garage, please note that my "nesting" phase of pregnancy has not quite kicked in yet.
Kara, Joan, and the pups do some last minute food-prep.
The house might have needed a liiiiittle more cleaning than we had planned, so we were still putting up decorations as guests were arriving. And I maaaay have put our guests to a little bit of work too, but it all turned out SO stinking cute. 99.999% of these ideas below came from my sister. Please enjoy and feel free to steal any or all ideas:
and last but not least...Josh shows off his "Modern Family" style shirt. No worries...he eventually rolled up his sleeves.
Kara's hours upon hours of selfless work surely did not go unnoticed. I mean...she made our house look like a freaking Pinterest showcase. We're so blessed to have her and her family in our lives, and we can't express our appreciation for all that they do for us.
Thanks again, Kara. Virtual hug for you...they're much less awkward than the real kind :)
No comments:
Post a Comment