Monday, January 12, 2015

Maternity Monday: Hospital Sleepover

So last week, Jace and I had a little bit of a health scare. Since I'm pretty sure most of us are adults here (considering Ma and Sis are the only ones that read this thing), I'll just go ahead and be blunt without being too gory. I was working out of our Maynardville location and had some bleeding and cramping that was most certainly cause for alarm.
 
I immediately called my doctor as well as my brother-in-law who is also a gynecologist. They both said to stay calm but to head to the hospital as quickly as possible. Considering my workplace is about 98% male, I have to say that I am so very thankful for the few wonderful ladies that I work with to help explain my issues to the higher-ups. It's amazing how you start to lose all humility as a preggers. In fact, everyone I work with was nothing but kind, understanding, and concerned. I am very lucky.
 
So anyway...I got to the hospital by about 10:30 AM and was immediately ushered to a back room. They strapped me up to a heart-rate monitor for the baby and some sort of contraction monitor for me. I sat in the most uncomfortable chair for over THREE hours while this graph thing made sure Baby Jace was healthy and I wasn't having consistent contractions.  Those lines look like Japanese to me...but supposedly they mean that Baby Jace has a very, very healthy "textbook" heartbeat (or so my doctor told me #proudmomma) and that I wasn't going into labor.  Both very good signs.
 
 
 
Everything in my ultrasound looked great...no visible tears or abruptions or anything scary like that; however, after seeing too much blood (gross-I know) during the physical exam, the doctor decided it was best for me to stay overnight in the hospital for observation. Thankfully, I had JUST been on a labor & delivery tour (see last week's blog) - and I knew exactly where to go! I got admitted to room number nine...changed into my buttless gown...and tried my very best to get comfortable in a bed with stirrups...because that was my home for the following 23 hours.
 
But my plan of care was laid out very clearly for me: STAY PREGGERS
 
 
 
And guys...not to get off subject or anything. But let me zoom in on this chart:
 
For future reference, if I am EVER in a 9-10 amount of pain, please put me out of my misery.  PUH-LEEZ.
 
Unfortunately, Josh was out of town for work.  I know he would have headed back home in a heartbeat, but Mom stepped right up and demanded that she stay the night in the hospital with me. I couldn't argue with this...and Josh and I made the mutual decision that he stay on the road to get some much needed work taken care of. I'm pretty sure Ma made the 3 hour road trip in about 2 hours. She was up in the room just after they had put the IV in. I have to say...all things considered...we had a delightful time as she shared her own preggers stories (she has FOUR, ya know) and laughed and giggled just making the best of the situation. Ma was so excited to see my ultrasound pictures, but she looked at them for about two seconds and said "nevermind...I just don't even know what I'm looking at anyway." Always honest :)
 
 
The absolute WORST part of the 23 hours...being hooked up to the IV.  35 freaking weeks preggers and they were pumping me full of fluids. Y'all...I was in the bathroom every 5 seconds.  In fact, I had to unplug SIX cords and roll the IV into the bathroom with me...all while trying to cover up my exposed rear end. By the time I got done, washed my hands, and plugged myself back up to everything...I had to get out of the bed and start my pee routine all over again.  It all made me dizzy and exhausted.
 
I mean...I look pitiful...and bloated :(

That night, we both did our best to get some much needed rest. I wanted to complain about being all strapped up with those monitors over my belly and the blood pressure arm band and the uncomfortable bed...but poor Mom had to sleep on this:
 
And she didn't complain one bit :)
 
 Between pee breaks and the nurses coming in to readjust my monitors...I didn't get any extended amount of sleep...but the quality time I spent with Mom was just wonderful. And mad props to the nurses.  I've said this before...but I've never met more wonderful nurses than those darlings that work at UT.
 
By the next morning, the bleeding had subsided and that graph paper thing continued to make me proud of my baby Jace's heart. I woke up to breakfast in bed and good news from the doctors and nurses. All was well, and I could change into some real clothes, walk around, and leave around lunchtime as long as everything stayed healthy. 
 
At this point, I begged Ma to please go down to the lobby to buy me fresh undergarments.
Big mistake. Like...literally HUGE mistake:
 
Thanks, Mom??? #fruitoftheloom 
 
After changing into the ultimate granny-panties (not gonna lie...COMFORTABLE AS ALL GET OUT), we got to head home just in time for a late lunch.
 
We still aren't really quite sure what caused the issues. I mean...I did step on a freaking dog-bone that morning and kinda collapsed a bit (imagine stepping on a Lego...it hurt like hell). Maybe the quick movement caused a small tear that healed itself? Is Bubbaloo trying to sabotage my pregnancy? We don't really know, but the good news is that all is okay. While the experience gave me a little anxiety that I still hold even to this day, I have to say I am so very thankful for my friends, my husband, my doctor, my nurses, my family (special shout-out to Dr. Brother-In-Law), and especially my sweet Momma for all of the kind words of encouragement and love. It could have been so much worse, and I am grateful that this little, teeny, tiny bump in the road has been the worst I've been through.
 
Baby Jace...we're excited to meet you, but we prefer you keep on cookin' in my belly for at least another couple of weeks. And please, please, please stay healthy for us :)
 
 
 


No comments:

Post a Comment