Monday, January 5, 2015

Maternity Monday: UT Hospital Tour

Just to clarify...I'm in no way, shape, or form going to knock on birthing classes. I'm just saying...they aren't for me. And they especially aren't for Josh. Look - we're both the youngest siblings and it's kinda in our DNA to just "show-up" and let everything else fall into place. Whether or not we go to classes, this baby thing is going to enter this world someway and somehow...and I'd rather spend my time preparing for the baby by resting my fat ass on the couch while devouring Ben & Jerry's.
 
That being said, Josh and I did our first (and probably only) responsible parental duty by attending a Labor and Delivery Tour at UT Medical Center this past weekend. We kinda figured that it would be a good idea to have a heads up on wtf is going to happen in approximately 38 days (hopefully sooner).
 
First off, please pray for me that I don't have one of those crazy, sudden, made-for-TV type labors. Let's just say that Josh likes to take his time and make sure everything is in the exact right place before he heads out the door. He then finally gets in the car, returns some text messages, checks twitter, fixes the radio, adjusts the temperature, cleans his sunglasses, fixes his hair, looks at his watch, checks the weather, organizes his console, puts on chapstick, fiddles with his fantasy roster, so on and so forth. I wanna say from the time he said he was ready to go to actually pulling out of the driveway...ELEVEN minutes had passed.
 
Regardless, we still somehow navigated through the traffic and the hospital like total pros and made it to our destination with plenty of time to spare. I don't know why I even try to bicker and get frustrated with that man...because he never lets me down.
 
 
I didn't want to be that total weirdo that took a bunch of pictures, so I just got this one of the family lobby. All that teal is so...soothing?? and will someone please explain to me why hospitals can't afford flat-screen TVs? Can't you get one for like fifty bucks these days?
 
The tour itself almost brought me back to my college days. I was always that kid that liked to prove you could slouch in the back-row and still totally eff up the curve for all those front-row nerds that were total ass-kissers. Yea...I know...I'm annoying, but so are you boring geeks out there that do everything the conventional way. So anyway...there were about 6 or 7 other couples on the tour.  Josh and I were clearly the furthest along with our pregnancy. This did not surprise me at all.  Procrastination is efficient...and it's gotten me this far in life. In fact, there was some chick there that was EIGHT WEEKS into her preggers-journey. Like...congrats on being an over-achiever and all, but I bet your husband is miserable. And don't even get me started on the chick that brought a NOTEPAD. I mean...is she going to refer back to her notes in the middle of pushing her baby out? I totally gave that chick dirty looks the whole tour. I was rolling my eyes so hard, Josh wouldn't even stand next to me...
 
In all seriousness, I'm really glad that we went on the tour. I was very impressed with the nurses and the rooms and the security of the whole place. I'm hoping for a "vaginal" birth (is there NOT a better way to say that...UGH), but I did find some comfort that Josh has to wear one of these adorable outfits if I happen to go the C-section route:
 
Don't worry, y'all...I plan to live-instagram the whole event if this ends up being the case (minus the gross bloody baby part).
 
All in all, this whole process was absolutely worth it and just made us both more antsy to get this show on the road. I even went home and headed straight to the nursery to tidy up a few loose ends:
 
I cannot believe that in just over five weeks, I'll be rocking my sweet, innocent Jace in that little corner of our sweet home. I know it's early, but he really is my little sunshine :)


No comments:

Post a Comment